Monday, April 4, 2011

New Sounds for the Jet-Set (groovy cheesy listening compilation)

It's been a long time since I've posted one of my own compilations, so now's the time to reverse that:

New Sounds for the Jet-Set is a compilation of groovy cheesy listening tunes from the 60's and 70's similar in vein to the Sound Gallery and In-Flight Entertainment compilations, but with more of a psychedelic edge.

These tunes were mainly all compiled from albums I'd found at the Spiral blog (now defunct), and I'll be surprised if many of these tunes have been compiled before. So, without further ado, pour yourself a Cinzano Bianco, loosen your cravat, and sit back and enjoy New Sounds for the Jet-Set.

N.B. The order of the track listing has been corrected.

1) Enoch Light and The Light Brigade – I Feel The Earth Move
2) Manzanilla – Without Reason Or Rhyme
3) Chico Arnez – Oh Well
4) Tony Mansell Singers – Scarborough Fair
5) Don Sebesky – Dance The Night Away
6) Button-Down Brass – Hurdy Gurdy Man
7) The New World – New World Symphony
8) Tartaglia – Within You Without You
9) The Border Brass – Aquarius/Let The Sunshine In
10) 101 Strings – I’m A Man
11) The In-Keepers – Matthew And Son
12) Electronic Concept Orchestra – Rock Me
13) Don Sebesky – Reflectivity
14) Morgana King – Tomorrow Never Knows
15) Baker Street Philharmonic – Daydream
16) Ted Heath And His Music – In The Year 2525
17) The Harry Roche Constellation – Hawaii Five-0
18) Paraffin Jack Flash Limited – Freewheelin'
19) Franck Pourcel – Days Of Pearly Spencer
20) Hal Vincent at The Baldwin Organ – Heavy Spaceman
21) The Alan Tew Orchestra – I’m A Believer
22) Brian Bennett – I Heard It Through The Grapevine
23) Keith Mansfield – Soul Thing
24) Brian Bennett – Ticket To Ride
25) The Mike Sammes Singers – Summertime
26) Harold Smart – UFO
27) Tartaglia – A Day In The Life

This compilation has been posted here.